Forum

MS DNS 2016 DLL pro...
 
Notifications
Clear all

[Solved] MS DNS 2016 DLL provider missing from ZIP packages 1.4.8


!facto
Posts: 4
Topic starter
(@ifacto)
New Member
Joined: 4 years ago

Hello,

As I saw the release notes about the support of CAA records for Microsoft DNS Provider 2016+, I updated to 1.4.8. But when I tried to create a CAA record, it wasn't working. After searching the reason, I replaced the provider ID in database for my DNS services to 1902 and discovered that the DLL Server\bin\dns2012\SolidCP.Providers.DNS.MsDNS2016.dll was missing from all the ZIP packages! 

I downloaded the full source code and compiled it, but if others have the issue, I think you should update the packages to include the file.

Thank you.

7 Replies
Marco Tiggelaar
Posts: 1961
Admin
(@m-tiggelaar)
Contributor
Joined: 6 years ago

Thank you for the report,

I have pushed new files to address the issue.

My appologies for the inconvenience!.

Reply
1 Reply
!facto
(@ifacto)
Joined: 4 years ago

New Member
Posts: 4

@m-tiggelaar Thank you Marco!

Reply
Ben
Posts: 92
 Ben
(@maoxiong)
Trusted Member
Joined: 4 years ago

Which files do we need to add/update for this? Just the SolidCP.Providers.DNS.MsDNS2016.dll?

Also - this is for 2019 as well? The 2012 provider says 2012+, but the 2016 just 2016.

Reply
4 Replies
!facto
(@ifacto)
Joined: 4 years ago

New Member
Posts: 4

@maoxiong

Yes it's also compatible with DNS 2019 as I use it. It's 2016+.

The provider ID was in the database but the DLL file was missing so the provider wasn't working at all. I just copied the file in the folder dns2012 (as per the code, it's in that file that is was supposed to be) and upgraded provider DNS 2012+ to DNS 2016+ and all is working!

The only minus is that when you add CAA record as example, you can't add it as text, you need to add it as hexadecimal, but it's ok when you know it!

 

Reply
Ben
 Ben
(@maoxiong)
Joined: 4 years ago

Trusted Member
Posts: 92

@ifacto thank you buddy, all working here now 😊

Reply
Marco Tiggelaar
Admin
(@m-tiggelaar)
Joined: 6 years ago

Contributor
Posts: 1961

@ifacto from what we saw hexadecimal is a limitation of MS DNS, and we did not see a good way to automatically convert it via codes for now. (we weren't that thrilled about doing it via hexadecimal neither).

Reply
!facto
(@ifacto)
Joined: 4 years ago

New Member
Posts: 4

@m-tiggelaar No problem, I understand it. Anyway, it's always displayed in hex when querying DNS servers so we all know a web site to convert it in text. It's just that when I tried the feature initially, I was on a domain that had no CAA records, so it was ending with generic error message while saving in text. It's just after that I realized I had to save it in Hex. I tought it could benefits to others too!

A conversion to text could be useful, for sure, but I prefer to see those existing records in SolidCP even if it's in hex than nothing previously.

Thank you again!

 

Reply
Share:
Downloads

Login

Lost your password?

Create an account?